(Not rated)

Already rated by you

3.1 Create translation

The translation of content is done by actually creating a copy of the default language and then replacing the text with the translation. All images and other settings of the default element are copied.

NOTE! Translated column elements function differently than regular content. The effect of this is; that after a column element (containing content elements) has been translated, and a new content is created for the default language column, the system can not recognize that content for translation. New content for the default language must therefore first be created outside of the column element, translated and after that moved into the column element.

To create the copy, click on the button with the text 'Translate'. (img. 3.1.1)

A pop up will appear, where you are given two options for translating.

  • Selecting the 'Translate' button, which is recommended if you wish to have the same structure as default language, will create copies that are connected to the default content. This means that if you, move the placement of the default content, it will automatically also place the translated language in the same order. It will also let you see changes that has been done to the default language, when you are editing the translation.  
  • If you instead use the 'Copy' button, the content will be copied, but there will be no relation to the default language.
  • It is not possible to switch between the two types. All translated copies must first be deleted and the translated again.

After your selection, click on 'Next'. (img. 3.1.2)

In the next step you can see which content will be copied, to continue click on 'Start processing'. (img. 3.1.3)

The copies, which are set to hidden, will appear in the language column. Edit the content to replace with correct language, by using the pen icon of the element or by clicking on the text of the element. Note also, that the text 'Translate to XXX' is automatically added to headers and text. (img. 3.1.4)

If you want to publish the content, go to the 'Access' tab and uncheck the 'Disable' box (img. 3.1.5).

Below each field the default text is shown with a grey background. If any changes has been made to the default element, added text will appear in green and deleted text will appear in red (img. 3.1.6). 

Comments (0)

No comments yet